The Harvest is Plenty

Jesus started out his ministry with twelve core followers. A modest crew of young boys that were willing. As they developed and walked in faith, Jesus sent them out with “All power and authority” (Luke 9:1). Yet Jesus does not stop here. He appoints seventy-two others and sends them out. What Jesus tells them next is thought-provoking “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few” (Luke 10:2) I often wonder where that harvest is in my day to day. In my mind, a harvest represents an abundance of sorts, yet what I fail to remember is the painstaking labor involved in harvesting. Now I have never actually harvested anything but from my little experience in landscaping, it is arduous. I look around me and see a lot of abundance, a lot of harvest if you will. And people work hard for a long time to taste it. Yet thankfully, Jesus is speaking of a different harvest that me or you can be apart of today.

The reason I have become so bored with this world is because my mind is not on “the things of God, but the things of man” (Matthew 16:23).

In my discontent, the Lord revealed a staggering truth: Every single day, the kingdom of Heaven is forcefully advancing (Matthew 11:12). I am not only invited to witness this movement, but to actively contribute to God’s redemptive plan. There is not a day that goes by that someone does not need to hear about Jesus, God’s Love, endless grace, & our desperate need for Him. If we believe any differently, we are living a lie. Sharing God’s truths are not bound to special occasions, holidays, or Sundays. When we begin to embrace the great commission everyday, we realize that our lives have an eternal purpose. Everyday. There is nothing else that provides this continual source of higher calling. Not a job, not a friendship, not a hobby, nothing.

The harvest is oh so plentiful & He invites us to take part in it.

This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment