Rationing Love

I know the scriptures. Well, in all honesty, I know a few verses here and there. And despite my best attempts, I can’t get away from the foundational command of Jesus:

“Love one another. As I (Christ) have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” John 13:34-35.

I just can’t rationalize this one away. If I accepted Christ and commit my life to following Him, Love becomes the metric for a meaningful life. Yet I have found myself so insufficient at this act, as if I believe that I can pick it up through some sermon or after reading a few webblogs (whatever those are). There is a reason, actually an infinite number of reasons, that Jesus constantly preached Love. Not only did He talk a lot about it, he was adamant about living it. We all have a strong yearning to be Loved and I believe Love is trying to break through our souls because it’s grasping for air.

I was on my boat chauffeuring high school kids around the lake, offering them the rare chance to go wakeboarding. While my patience was steady as we tried and tried, I noticed something frightening. [I wanted to control God’s love.] I had decided that because of their lack of appreciation, course jokes & somewhat arrogant mindset they should not experience the fullness of God’s unconditional love. In truth, I was living under the assumption that I am more deserving of God’s love than they were.

If I could open my heart right now, more spiritually and much less physically, you would see a vacuum that is intended to be filled by Luke’s precious words

“If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them. And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners do that. But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because He is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.” (6:32-36)

I don’t know why this is still a problem. I mean, we are New Creations & given the message of Reconciliation. Yet so often I strive tirelessly to fabricate Love, to manufacture it within my own factory. Not only does this leave me bitter, it also provides the world an extremely inaccurate picture of authentic Love. I want to be known by the Heavens as someone who Loved. In my mind, the main reason I fail to facilitate the authentic Love of Jesus Christ is perspective. My outlook on what is important and what is not has extreme implications on how I Love. So as we go forth, remember where Love must come from. Rejoice in God’s discipline. Celebrate His Grace.

This entry was posted in Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment