Living with Responsibility

When we have the privilege to experience and interact with different cultures, we quickly learn how different America really is. I mean, who else really keeps their lawns this nice?

Enter Ricardo: A 35-year old Tico (local Costa Rican) who has lived in the same small town his entire life, working the land & diligently raising a family of three kids. He wakes up every morning at five to earn his weekly wage and then comes home to learn English and hone his stone-carving skills. I found myself tempted to ask “How can this man be so happy and content with a life like this?” Because his family doesn’t have a car, or a very large dwelling, or even a washer and dryer.

There are times when I don’t know how to digest this world and all that seems unfair. I want to crawl up in a ball and let life pass me by…sometimes. In a place where there is so much misfortune and difficult circumstances, I can’t fathom why I am blessed so abundantly. I never chose to grow in the US of A. I never selected my family. I never had the chance to hand-pick my economic status and access to opportunities. If I am not careful, I begin to feel guilty about all of this. At least I know the enemy is prodding me. But I won’t believe that our God in Heaven is that oblivious: He knows exactly what He is doing. I have found assurance in the words of Luke 12:48 that promised “From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.” Blessings from the Lord come without a cost, not that we possess that kind of wealth anyways. Yet the Scriptures are clear that blessings come with responsibility and I can choose to pour it out like oil on Jesus’ head or use them for my own satisfaction. Being classified as rich, whether by the world or the Bible, is not a sin. However, I do believe it is a serious spiritual disadvantage. (Mark 10:14)

In my troubled soul I was kindly reassured that my God is a God who sits on a throne of Grace (Hebrews 4:16). And His blessings are not ours to direct. (Daniel 4:35). Everything under the sun is His and things go awry when we try to play god. Like I said, I didn’t choose to grow up in such an affluent country with mounds of resources. But, as Luke clearly states, those who have much are demanded much. Let me say this publicly, for myself more than anything: it is okay to have a lot relative to the world. In fact, what a beautiful picture of God’s grace and generous heart. Yet prosperity can harden the heart & I know we are immersed in a comparison culture. I believe God has given me these blessings for a divine and epic purpose. I shouldn’t feel shameful about having a healthy savings account or even a a Bachelors of Science degree. The temptation though is to sit and sulk about why so many people have so little rather than leveraging my resources and opportunities to serve God’s will of love, mercy, and power. Jesus allows us to share in God’s beautiful and holy redemptive plan as we are His ambassadors. Just as the Gospel is available to anyone who believes in faith, glorifying God is not bound by specific conveniences or opportunities.

And rightly so, some of the most happy and lively people are the ones that appear to be suffering through life. God bless America. We need it.

“If you are always keeping blessings to yourself and never learning to pour out anything to the Lord, other people will never have their vision of God expanded through you” Oswald Chambers – Pouring Out the Water of Satisfaction

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment